Contacts

Janis Elliott
Department Head
janis.elliott@ops.org
(402) 557-3383

Matt Aguilar
matthew.aguilar@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext.3317105

Kristoff Berzins
kristoff.berzins@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318716

Jesse Busse
jesse.busse@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317092

Sharon Elliott
sharon.elliott@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318778

Roxi Erickson
roxi.erickson@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317088

Karl Foxhoven
karl.foxhoven@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext.

Jerry Frerichs
jerry.frerichs@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318741

Ariel Gass
ariel.gass@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318746

Matt Hamill
matt.hamill@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318742

Ashutosh Kumar
ashutosh.kumar@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317100

Jackie Morales
jackie.morales@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318743

John Morley
john.morley@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318747

Jason Page
jason.page@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317093

Kyle Parkhill
kyle.parkhill@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318744

Tracy Rumbaugh
tracy.rumbaugh@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318745

Aaron Strain
aaron.strain@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317101

 

 

Science Department


Science and Technology are major influences in the lives of everyone, no matter what their roles in society may be. The Science Department offers a sequence of courses that give students basic science knowledge through the use of scientific processes and technology.  The courses are designed sequentially to prepare students for each future science class, as well as to foster inquiry, problem solving skills which are needed to produce scientifically literate citizens.  The continued advances in technology require citizens to have an appreciation and understanding of science and the role it plays in society.  Each successive science course is developed by expanding and unifying the concepts and processes of the previous course.  

 

Number of Credits Required for Graduation    Six

 

 

  Required Courses

Physical Science or Physical Science Fundamentals 1-2

Biology 1-2 or Biology Fundamentals 1-2

Two semesters of Elective Course(s)

                    OR

Biology 1-2 or Biology Fundamentals 1-2

 

Chemistry 1-2 or Chemistry Fundamentals 1-2

 

Physics 1-2 or Fundamental Physics 1-2

 

College/University bound students are encouraged to take biology, chemistry and physics to prepare them for the rigor of higher education classes.  Honors level courses are recommended.

 

Honors Courses

Honors Physical Science 1-2

Honors Biology 1-2

Honors Anatomy and Physiology 1-2

Honors Chemistry 1-2

Honors Physics 1-2

Honors Science Seminar

 

AP Courses

AP Biology 1-2

AP Chemistry 1-2

AP Physics B 1-2

AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 1-2

AP Physics C: Mechanics 1-2

 

Elective Courses

Honors Anatomy and Physiology 1-2

Anatomy and Physiology 1-2

Biology 3-4

Earth Science 3-4 (Honors Option)

Science Seminar 1-2 (Honors Option)

Forensics 1 (Honors Option)

Environmental Science 1 (Honors Option)

Astronomy 1 (Honors Option)

Marine Biology/Oceanography 1 (Honors Option)

Course Descriptions (PDF)