Contacts

Erica Meyer
Department Head
erica.meyer@ops.org
(402) 557-3355

Tony Almeida
anthony.almeida@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317076

Sara Evans (Danielson)
sara.danielson@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318787

Estrella Ferrer Escanero
estrella.ferrerescanero@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318727

Francisco Juarez-Palomo
francisco.juarezpalomo@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317079

Melissa Kuskie
melissa.kuskie@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317078

Ashley McCarville
ashley.mccarville@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317080

Ana Myers
ana.myers@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext.

Micah Ringlein
micah.ringlein@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318786


Brian Tyrey
brian.tyrey@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3318752

Zhuanyun Yin
zhuanyun.yin@ops.org
(402) 557-3300 ext. 3317125

World Languages Department


The goal of the World Languages Department is the development of basic communicative skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in the target language. The emphasis is on what students can “do” with the language (functional use) as well as what students “know” about language. Emphasis will be placed on activities, which involve meaningful language use. Students should develop an awareness and appreciation of other languages and cultures, which will enable them to interact in an increasingly global society.

 

World language students have access to computer labs and software programs to reinforce and enhance their language skills. Word processing and Internet searches are a part of language learning at all levels of language study. Student trips abroad and state and metro competitions enhance the students’ program of study.

 

All courses count towards the elective requirements for graduation.

 

Required Courses:                 None

 

Honors Courses:
Honors Chinese 5-6

Honors Chinese 7-8

Honors French 5-6

Honors French 7-8

Honors German 5-6

Honors German 7-8

Honors Spanish 5-6

Honors Spanish 7-8

Honors Spanish for Spanish Speakers 3-4

Honors Spanish for Spanish Speakers 5-6

Honors Latin 5-6

Honors Latin 7-8

 

AP Courses:

AP French Language 1-2

AP German Language 1-2

AP Spanish Language 1-2

AP Spanish Literature 1-2

 

Elective Courses:

Chinese 1-2

Chinese 3-4

French 1-2

French 3-4

German 1-2

German 3-4

Spanish 1-2

Spanish 3-4

Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1-2

Latin 1-2

Latin 3-4

Course Descriptions (PDF)