mn      
 

 

 

Need Homework?


Click here to view instructions.

mnb
WELCOME TO CHS COUNSELING

Central High counselors are here to advocate for all students, collaborate with school staff, families, and community resources. This comprehensive, standard based school counseling program encourages students to reach their highest potential.  Central counselors will focus on key issues that impact student success.  These focus areas include regular school attendance, advancing on grade level and graduation, and preparation for all post secondary/career opportunities. We look forward to working with you!

COUNSELOR ASSIGNMENTS AND SUPPORT STAFF

The CHS Counseling Department consists of ten counselors, a social worker and community counselor.  Students are assigned a counselor by alphabet.  In addition, students work with additional counselors who present specialized activities in various areas related to academic achievement, personal- social development, career awareness, and college planning, Counselors meet with students individually, in small groups, and in various classroom presentations. In addition, counselors provide large group workshops at various school events for students, families, and community.

ASSIGNED COUNSELORS:

Jenn Walker       A       402-557-3364     jennifer.walker@ops.org

Director of Counseling /Student Recognition/Crisis Intervention

Sheri Harrach        F,G,T      402-557-3324     sheri.harrach@ops.org

Career Education Grades  9 & 10,  Ace Scholarship, Metro Career Academy, Volunteers

John Flemming         D,O,P,U,V     402-557-3327     john.flemming@ops.org

Career Education Grades 11 & 12, Employment/Military/ASVAB Testing Coordinator,OPS Career Center Liaison, Resumes, Part-time Jobs

Diana Fries    B,I,K,Y     402-557-3323     diana.fries@ops.org

Social-Emotional Grades 9 & 10/Teen Parenting/Small Groups/Drug-Alcohol Prevention/Community Agencies

Leslie Hill          H,R      402-557-3321     leslie.hill@ops.org

College Counselor Grade 10/Testing Coordinator/SAT Testing Administrator

Angie Meyer   College Counselor: Grade 12     402-557-3325     angela.meyer@ops.org      College Planning 

Grade 12 College Planning /Scholarships/Athletic Divisions/Academic Achievement/Financial Aid/ACT Testing Administrator/Student Recognition

Ron Moore      C-E-X-Z & E.L.L. & Exchange Students   402-557-3326     ronald.moore@ops.org

Social-Emotional Grades 11 & 12/ Issues/Diversity-Inclucity/Anger Management/Exchange Students/ English Language Learner Academic Support/ Community Workshops

Mindy Morgan       J,L,W     402-557-3322     mindy.morgan@ops.org

College Counselor - Grade 9

Julie Politi         M,N       402-557-3394     julie.politi@ops.org

Academic Records/ Orientation and Registration/ Alternative Education/Graduation/GSA

Tom Reilly       S,Q   402-557-3328   thomas.reilly@ops.org

Grade 11 College Planning/National Merit Scholarship/PSAT Testing Administrator/Test Prep Programs       

COUNSELING SUPPORT STAFF

Dawnna Hill     Social Worker     402-557-3307     dawnna.hill@ops.org

Provides individual and family interventions to support overall student academic success.  Services to include: attendance problem solving, building student engagement, collaboration with internal/external professionals on behalf of the student, community resource connections, crisis response, responding to mental health and substance abuse needs and barriers, special education accommodations, social-emotional building, and teen pregnant and parenting supports. 

Vicki Meyer     Community Counselor     402-557-3300 Ext3317005     vicki.meyer@nmhs.org

Counseling & Therapy Programs provided to individual students based on a variety of special needs as a service of the OPS District.  Students can meet during school hours or at an off-site location. 

OFFICE SUPPORT

Kim Hill 402-557-3328    kimberly.hill@ops.org

Cumulative Records/Office Aides/Driver Education/Work Permits

Cheryl Carlson      402-557-3328     cheryl.carlson@ops.org

Homework Requests/Scholarship Distribution/Technology Updates –Webpage/Registration

 How Can A Student Access A School Counselor:

The counseling offices are open from 7:00 a.m. – 3:45 p.m. weekdays. Students can meet with a counselor before or after school, during passing periods, and study hall. Students must obtain a pass to meet with a counselor during class time. In an emergency situation, students may directly access the counselor during class time.

How Can A Parent Access A School Counselor:

Parents/Guardians may contact a counselor by phone, email, or by setting up a meeting time.  Please refer to the contact information listed above.

Speciality Areas

See Counselor List



See Counselor List

 

Informational Career web sites

 

Navinace Family Connection: http://connection.naviance.com/opscentral

Nebraska Career Connections: www.nebraskacareerconnections.org/students.htm

EducationQuest: www.educationquest.org/11th-12th-grade-students/exploringcareers

ACT: www.act.org/profile

College Board: https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/

Omaha/SW Iowa Building Construction Trades Council: www.bctomaha.org

Jobs Projections: http:///h3.ne.gov/H3/

Bureau of Labor Statistics: www.bls.gov/careeroutlook/

CareerLink: http://careelink.com/jobseeker

Exploring: www.omahaexploring.org

Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB): http://official-asvab.com

Click below for Special Links: