Contacts

Janis Elliott
Department Head
janis.elliott@ops.org
531-299-5531

Matt Aguilar
matthew.aguilar@ops.org
531-299-5538

Alicia Beckman-Petersen
alicia.beckmanPetersen@ops.org
531-299-5540

Allison Been
allison.been@ops.org
531-299-5548

Kristoff Berzins
kristoff.berzins@ops.org
531-299-5547

Josh Bullock
joshua.bullock@ops.org
531-299-5546

Jesse Busse
jesse.busse@ops.org
531-299-5543



Sharon Elliott
sharon.elliott@ops.org
531-299-5534

Roxi Erickson
roxi.erickson@ops.org
531-299-5544

Ariel Gass
ariel.gass@ops.org
531-299-5532

Matt Hamill
matt.hamill@ops.org
531-299-5542

Ashutosh Kumar
ashutosh.kumar@ops.org
531-299-5541

Alexis Madsen
alexis.madsen@ops.org
531-299-5430

Jackie Morales
jackie.morales@ops.org
531-299-5539

John Morley
john.morley@ops.org
531-299-5533

Kyle Parkhill
kyle.parkhill@ops.org
531-299-5545

Tracy Rumbaugh
tracy.rumbaugh@ops.org
531-299-5536

Aaron Strain
aaron.strain@ops.org
531-299-5535

 

 

Science Department

Science and Technology are major influences in the lives of everyone, no matter what their roles in society may be. The Science Department offers a sequence of courses that give students basic science knowledge through the use of scientific processes and technology.  The courses are designed sequentially to prepare students for each future science class, as well as to foster inquiry, problem solving skills which are needed to produce scientifically literate citizens.  The continued advances in technology require citizens to have an appreciation and understanding of science and the role it plays in society.  Each successive science course is developed by expanding and unifying the concepts and processes of the previous course.  

 

Number of Credits Required for Graduation    Six

 

  Required Courses

Physical Science or Physical Science Fundamentals 1-2

Biology 1-2 or Biology Fundamentals 1-2

Two semesters of Elective Course(s)

 

College/University bound students are encouraged to take biology, chemistry and physics, or earth science to prepare them for the rigor of higher education classes.  Honors level courses are recommended.

 

Honors Courses

Honors Physical Science 1-2

Honors Biology 1-2

Honors Chemistry 1-2

Honors Science Research

 

AP Courses

AP Biology 1-2

AP Chemistry 1-2

AP Physics 1

AP Physics 2

AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

AP Physics C: Mechanics

 

Elective Courses

Anatomy and Physiology 1-2 (Honors Option)

Earth Science 3-4 (Honors Option)

Science Seminar 1-2 (Honors Option)

Forensics 1 (Honors Option)

Environmental Science 1 (Honors Option)

Astronomy 1 (Honors Option)

Marine Biology/Oceanography 1 (Honors Option)

Physics 1-2 (Honors Option)

Course Descriptions (PDF)