Contact

Gary Groff
Department Head
gary.groff@ops.org
531-299-5514



Ben Boeckman
benjamin.boeckman@ops.org
531-299-5518

Jordan Boyer
jordan.boyer@ops.org
531-299-5523

Patricia Brizendine
patricia.brizendine@ops.org
531-299-5528

Vicki Deniston-Reed
victoria.deniston-reed@ops.org
531-299-5529

Casey Denton
casey.denton@ops.org
531-299-5519

Jimmie Foster
jimmie.foster@ops.org
531-299-5530

Kyle Kremer
kyle.kremer@ops.org
531-299-5522

Jay Landstrom
jay.landstrom@ops.org
531-299-5520

Andante Lloyd
andante.lloyd@ops.org
531-299-5431

Molly McVay
molly.mcvay@ops.org
531-299-5515

Joe Mickeliunas
joseph.mickeliunas@ops.org
531-299-5517

Rod Mullen
rod.mullen@ops.org
531-299-5526

Peter Pham
peter.pham@ops.org
531-299-5525

Amanda Phillips
amanda.phillips@ops.org
531-299-5427

Brendon Smith
brendon.smith@ops.org
531-299-5521

Bob Tucker
robert.tucker@ops.org
531-299-5527

Scott Wilson
scott.wilson@ops.org
531-299-5516

Social Studies Department


The goals of the Social Studies Department are: (1) to assist students in examining values and eventually to become committed to those of our democratic society; (2) to aid students in identifying with the United States and to develop a refined sense of patriotism; (3) to acquaint students with the world around them in an effort to help them better understand their position in the world; (4) to teach the skill of class discussion not only to contribute to the knowledge of the class but also to listen to and respect the opinions of others; (5) to teach the methods of doing research, evaluate sources of information, and reach intelligent conclusions; and, (6) to appraise the reality and importance of the world’s cultural and pluralistic nature.

 

Number of Credits Required for Graduation:    Seven

mnb

Required Courses:

US History 1-2

Human Geography

Economics

Modern World History 1-2

American Government


Honors Courses:

Honors US History 1-2

Honors Human Geography

Honors Economics

Honors Academic Decathlon 1-2

Honors Introduction to World Religions

 

AP Courses:

AP Human Geography 1-2

AP Macroeconomics
AP Microeconomics
AP World History 1-2

AP United States Government and Politics
AP Comparative Government and Politics
AP United States History 1-2

AP Psychology 1-2

 

Elective Courses:

African American History
Anthropology International Studies
Honors Introduction to World Religions
Honors Academic Decathlon

Law and Juvenile Justice
Omaha History
Psychology
Sociology

Course Descriptions (PDF)