THE ROLE OF SCHOOL COUNSELORS 
 

The OPS School Counseling framework is built on a strengths-based foundation, utilizing the American School Counselor Association model. Through classroom curriculum, group activities, and individual sessions, school counselors guide all students toward academic success and post-secondary education goals. Students are sometimes challenged with the demands of school and life. Decision-making, conflict resolution, problem solving, and healthy relationships are some of the topics school counselors discuss with students. 

School counselors actively promote leadership, collaboration, student advocacy, and systemic change through evidence-based and research informed practice. School counselors focus on improving school connectedness to assist students and families in overcoming barriers that are impacting the students’ success. Every student will be empowered to gain the attitude, knowledge, and skills necessary for lifelong academic, career, and personal success. Every student will be provided a system of support to address immediate needs and concerns impacting school success. Strengths-based school counseling focuses on identifying strengths and promoting positive development.  

Your child's assigned school counselor is your starting point for any concerns regarding the above items. Please contact them and they will help. Your student can also access their counselor by emailing or submitting a "Request to See Counselor Form" in room 129.

Students who need support beyond the School Counseling Program can also access the Community Counseling Program and School Social Worker at Central High School.

School Counselor

Student Assignment

Office

Phone

Email

Sheri Harrach

A, X, Z & Department Head

129

531-299-5656

sheri.harrach@ops.org

John Flemming

D, O, P, U, V

129

531-299-5655

john.flemming@ops.org

Todd Hunter

F, G, T      

130

531-299-3766

todd.hunter@ops.org

Dawnna Hill

School Social Worker

22E

531-299-5637

dawnna.hill@ops.org

Leslie Hill

H, R

129

531-299-5660

leslie.hill@ops.org

Angie Meyer

Grade 12 College

031

531-299-5659

angela.meyer@ops.org

Vicki Meyer

Community Counseling Program

L34D

402-354-6891 x16

vmeyer@nmhs.org

Ron Moore

E, English Learners

129

531-299-5658

ronald.moore@ops.org

Mindy Morgan

J, L, W

130

531-299-5657

mindy.morgan@ops.org

Julie Politi

M, N

129

531-299-5661

julie.politi@ops.org

Tom Reilly

C, Q, S

129

531-299-5662

thomas.reilly@ops.org

Michelle Synowiecki

B, I, K, Y

129

531-299-7668

michelle.synowiecki@ops.org



THE ROLE OF SCHOOL COUNSELORS